What is the problem with girls having body hair?

Body Hair. According to science, girls with body hair still grosses boys out. But why?!

Why is it acceptable for a boy to have armpit hairs as long as my fringe but if girls even have a centimetre of hair, it’s apparently disgusting and they need to shave. Like, immediately.

I remember once, (before reading this, have in mind my family are very  open) I was getting out of the shower and Mum walks in, looks down in horror and asks: “Why have you got no pubes?!”

To me it was normal. I was 15 and learnt throughout high school that if I had pubes on my vagina, it was gross. So of course, I shaved them all off, clean and bald like a new born baby. Mum, who still has a bush from the 80’s, just couldn’t understand.

img_9538

Are we doing it for the sex we lust after? Or are we doing It for ourselves? It’s gotten to the point where I actually feel dirty when I have hair, but in reality, it’s actually more hygienic. It protects us more from STI’s and helps keep our PH balance A-OK down there by keeping out bacteria. We’ve all experienced a gross ingrowing hair ladies, don’t lie to me. And that’s because of shaving!

According to a recent survey, 60% of men prefer their women to be hairless. Jamie Coles, straight male from Wales told me: “Hairy armpits are minging, not gonna lie. But girls can have pubes. Trimmed though. Boys should trim too.”

I asked why he feels that way about underarm hair, “All armpit hair is gross, even on men. I think, as a heterosexual man, it reminds you of men. So it’s unattractive. Hair indicates testosterone which indicates smell. Makes you think a lack of effort has been put in.”

image1

Jasmin Mar, bisexual from Sheffield said, “Honestly? I don’t really care, and I actually find it quite attractive if someone feels they’re able to have their body hair the way they want.”

11951639_1032861106727083_3567413226682689171_o.jpg
Photo taken from Facebook

Nadia Al Aswad, straight from Sheffield says: “Society has placed an intense criticism on women’s bodies in general, but in the specific case of hair, it is an almost archaic notion pursued by western ways of thinking.

“It’s funny though that society has such a double standard on women’s hair, I mean we are supposed to have long beautiful shiny hair on our heads and nice long eyelashes, but apparently everywhere else we have to look as bald as a baby.”

ameh
Photo taken from Facebook

Oh, straight men, when will you learn? It’s because of you, I have to dry shave my armpits, because I want to wear my god damn strappy top.

I don’t think we will ever know the real answer to why we feel the need to shave. I hate that I want to, but I do – and I’m genuinely not doing it for men. I salute you women who have more hair on their legs than I do on my body.

To end, so we don’t lose all hope in boys, I asked a few more if women’s pubes grossed them out. To my happiness, many aren’t bothered at all – most have girlfriends though, they have been well trained.

DID YOU KNOW?

  • Shaving is the most common reported hair removal technique by women
  • 60% of men prefer a hair free woman
  • 50% of women report their typical status as hair free
  • 80.3% of people who groom their pubic regions reported experiencing genital itching at least once
One thought on “What is the problem with girls having body hair?

  1. Jamie Coles, straight male from Wales told me: “Hairy armpits are minging, not gonna lie. But girls can have pubes. Trimmed though. Boys should trim too.” I asked why he feels that way about underarm hair, “All armpit hair is gross, even on men. I think, as a heterosexual man, it reminds you of men. So it’s unattractive. Hair indicates testosterone which indicates smell. Makes you think a lack of effort has been put in.”

    Your answer is right here: 1. “Girls can have pubes” a straight male you asked openly says girls can have pubes, then he says he believes both sexes should be trimmed equally so he isn’t biased in that respect as he believes shaving shows a sign of effort.
    2. “All armpit hair is gross, even on men. I think, as a heterosexual man, it reminds you of men. So it’s unattractive. Hair indicates testosterone which indicates smell” This shows how the male mind is conditioned to associate hair with testosterone and masculinity since ” testosterone plays a key role in the development of male reproductive tissues such as the testis and prostate, as well as promoting secondary sexual characteristics such as increased muscle and bone mass, and the growth of body hair” so since being overly hairy is a biological expression of having high testosterone levels, and with the conditioning that young women and young men recieve equally about women’s bodies being hairless from media they consume. It is extremely hard to disassociate the link between hairiness and testosterone, and the link of testosterone to male masculinity. This is why this particular straight male believes women should shave. Although it would be an assumption to think every young male shares this opinion but its also an assumption to think the majority of males like shaved women.
    The short answer being straight men find it unattractive if a woman reminds him of a masculine male, much like i imagine a straight woman find a male unattractive if he reminded her of a feminine woman.

    Like

Leave a Reply

