No babies yet thanks- number of teenage mums at lowest in decades

Are you a young mum? Or waiting until you’re older?

The Office for National Statistics, says that the number of ‘teenage mothers’ has fallen to it’s lowest rate in decades. But why?

The report showed that one in 14 women in England and Wales (7%) who were born in 1995, has at least one child before they were 20.

This was in comparison to one in five (20%) of women born in 1952.

15935782_1212878942136535_326044642_n
Sophie Morton, 21, with her children; Marshall, Lilah and Daisy.

Sophie Morton, 21, from Sheffield, who had three children- Marshall, 3, Lilah, 2, and Daisy, 10 months- by the time she was 20, said, ‘I wouldn’t say I planned to have them young but I also didn’t imagine my self been an older mum.

‘I grew up with a big family always had a baby or toddler around me, so I guess it was in my nature to be a mum.

‘I admit, people think you’ve thrown away the part of you life; where you party and do whatever you want, but from my point of view I don’t care about that. There’s still time in the future, when your kids have grown up.

‘When I look at how much other young mums get slated or bad mouthed- being told they can’t cope or they’re too young- it really gets to me, because every mum has those days which she finds stressful or too tiring.

I don’t think there is a right age to become a mum. Some people aren’t ready at the time they have children, but things do fall into place. Just because where young doesn’t mean we don’t love our babies and that we cant care for them- because we do and we can.’

11899811_1002760973078577_1085833135250308507_n
Keisha Westoby, 22, and boyfriend Josh Allan.

Keisha Westoby, 22, from Sheffield, who was also born in 1995, has been in a relationship for four years, and said, ‘I think that if I had children at a young age I would have grown up but missed a chunk out as you miss out experiences that you should do without as much responsibility.

‘I don’t have the money to even accomplish some of my goals at the minute let alone support a child as well.’

The report also showed that around 1 in 6 women born in 1970 remained childless by the end of their childbearing years compared
with 1 in 8 women born in 1943.

It was thought this may be due to a decline in the postponement of decisions about whether to have children until it may be biologically too late and greater social acceptability of a child-free lifestyle.

Lisa Pogson, 47, from Rotherham, waited until she was 40 to have her first child, Hannah, and said, she loved everyone else’s children but was never really bothered about having her own.

‘When I did try for a bit, it didn’t happen and I had a few friends who were desperately trying and I worried I would become upset.

‘When I had to stop taking taking the pill for health reasons, we tried different contraception and it generally worked. The Christmas I got pregnant with Hannah we were both full of a flu type bug, so I can only think it didn’t work!

‘If I knew what I knew now, I would have tried harder when I was about 33/34 and probably tried again fairly soon after Hannah, probably when she was about three. I think we may have had more than one if I had her younger.’

1923945_28285711626_2674_n
Lisa Pogson and daughter, Hannah
Leave a Reply

